Inclusive Innovation Conference 2018


DAY 1 

8:00 AM – Registration

Opening Session

9:00-9:05 AM – National Anthem / Conference Overview

9:05-9:20 AM –Welcome Remarks by Usec. Ceferino Rodolfo, Undersecretary for Industry Development and Trade Policy, Department of Trade and Industry

9:20-9:40 AMKeynote Address by Sec. Ramon Lopez, Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry

9:40-11:20 AM – SESSION 1: Leapfrogging to Industrialization: Inclusive Filipinnovation & Entrepreneurship Roadmap 

The Inclusive Filipinnovation & Entrepreneurship Roadmap
by Asec. Rafaelita Aldaba, Assistant Secretary for Industry Development and Trade Policy, Department of Trade and Industry

Linking Government with Industry & Education
Dr. Rowena Cristina Guevara, Undersecretary for Research and Development, Department of Science and Technology

Panel Discussion (Moderator: Dr. Richard Abendan)

Asec. Rafaelita Aldaba, DTI
Usec. Rowena Guevara, DOST
Asec. Carlos Abad Santos, NEDA
Mr. Earl Qua, EIAPI
Dr. Tirso Ronquillo, PASUC
Dr. Vicente Paqueo, PIDS
Mr. Roberto Batungbacal, Dow Chemical

11:20-12:00 NN – Messages of Support

Ms. Jane Xu, IFC Country Manager
Mr. Yoshio Wada, JICA Chief Representative
Ms. Tonilyn Lim, UNIDO Country Representative
Mr. Lawrence Hardy II, USAID Mission Director

12:00-1:00 PM – L U N C H

1:00-1:30 PM – SIGNING OF MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING – Filipinnovation & Entrepreneurship | StartUps Partnership

1:30-1:50 PM – Keynote Remarks by Secretary Fortunato De La Peña, Department of Science and Technology

1:50-3:15 PM – SESSION 2: Government-Industry-Education: Accelerating Collaboration and Linking Innovation & Entrepreneurship


The Industrial Extension Network by Dr. William Padolina, Academician
Mr. Benny Shlick, Innovation Without Borders

Panel Discussion (Moderator: Dr. Napoleon Juanillo, Jr.)

Usec. Nepomuceno Malaluan, DOST
DDG. Nelson Laluces, IPOPHL
Dr. Evelyn Taboada, USC
Dr. Raymond Tan, DLSU
Mr. Guillermo Luz, ABAC
Mr. Sherwin Nones, IMI

3:15-5:00 PM – SESSION 3: Building Regional Inclusive Innovation Centers: Catalyzing Regional Economic Transformation, Industrial Upgrading, and Moving Up the Global Value Chains


The Philippine Entrepreneurship Ecosystem by Andres Garcia, WB/IFC
Mr. Allen Sansano, Wave Computing
Dir. Joel Marciano, DOST-ASTI

Panel Discussion (Moderator: Dr. Richard Abendan)

Dr. Rosalito Quirino, USTP
Dr. Shirley Agrupis, MMSU
Mr. Emil Tapnio, PhilDev
OIC-ARD Ma. Elena Arbon, DTI
Ms. Cherrie Atilano, AGREA
Mr. Jojo Flores, Launchgarage

5:00 PM – Closing Session

Moving Forward and Next Steps by Asec. Rafaelita Aldaba, DTI

End of Day 1

in partnership with

DAY 2 

8:00 AM – Registration

9:00-9:30 AM – Opening Session 

Highlights of Day 1

Opening Remarks by Engr. Raul C. Sabularse, Deputy Executive Director, DOST-PCIEERD

9:30-12:10 NN – Technologies Pitching
(Moderated by Ms. Tinnie Anacleto, DOST-PCIEERD)

Looking for Partners

LAMP Kit for Shrimp Pathogens – Dr. Mary Beth B. Maningas, UST
Mass Transport (Hybrid Train Set and Hybrid Electric Train) – Engr. Pablo Acuin, MIRDC
Impeller Rice Mill – Dr. Michael A. Gragasin, PhilMech
Ginhawa/ ReliefVent – Dr. Abundio Balgos, UP Manila

Looking for Clients

Antipara – Engr. Aaron Hilomen, Antipara Exploration Inc.
FISH-I – Dr. Prospero Naval Jr., UP Diliman
USHER – Dr. Francis Aldrine Uy, Mapua University
VISSER – Dr. Giovanni A. Tapang, UP Diliman
ACTIcon™ Biopesticide for Cavendish Banana – Ms. Irene A. Papa, BIOTECH-UPLB
Axis Knee System – Mr. Jude Sasing, Orthopaedic International

12:10-12:30 NN – Remarks by Dr. Edwin Villar, Acting Deputy Executive Director for R&D, DOST-PCAARRD

12:30-1:30 PM – L U N C H

1:30-3:00 PM – Panel Discussion: Start Local, Grow Global
With fast-growing startups and tech-enabled MSMEs in the country, the government takes the helm in championing and building the Philippine startup ecosystem. This panel shares updates on government efforts and studies in support of the Philippine startup ecosystem and in search for the next Filipino scaleup. (Moderated by Mr. Vincent Tobias, Head of Innovation, Ayala Corporation)

Usec. Nora Terrado, Trade & Investments Promotion Group, DTI
Dr. Richard Abendan, Chief of Party, USAID STRIDE Program
Dr. Cyrille Schwob, Head of Technology for Asia Pacific, Airbus
Mr. Prim Paypon, Executive Director, Asian Institute of Management-Dado Banatao Incubator

3:00-3:15 PM – Coffee Break

3:15-4:00 PM – The StartUp Nation by Benny Shlick, Co-founder and Director, Innovation Without Borders

4:00-6:00 PM – Business Matching/Networking Cocktails

End of Day 2


There will be working coffee breaks around 10:30 am and at 3 pm. An open forum will be included in the panel discussions on Day 1.